Motorists need to be very careful when driving as any damage they cause will be their responsibility. This is not just in a moral sense but in a legal one as well. The state of Texas will enforce the financial liability of the guilty party to protect the victims in an accident. Carrying Texas liability insurance ensures that drivers have the resources to comply with their legal duty if they ever get involved in such an unfortunate situation. Other forms of insurance will be needed if a person wishes to have standby funds in case he also sustains injury or property damage during the collision.
Minimum Mandatory Coverage
The lowest payouts for automobile insurance have been standardized to guarantee their usefulness in real life situations. Motorists must adhere to these amounts as plans that go below them are considered to be in violation of the law. Texas liability insurance must be at least $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident. As for property damage, it should be a least $25,000 for repairs. Now it is highly possible for the actual needs of the victims to go over those amounts. Insurance companies will cover the costs up until the contract limit and the balance will have to be paid out of pocket. Given the rising cost of health care and car prices, it may be wise to go for plans with payouts that are well above the minimum.
We have already established that Texas liability car insurance deals only with the needs of the other party. If the person who triggered the accident sustains injuries himself, he cannot depend upon this basic plan to get funds for his own treatment. Many motorists extend their coverage beyond liability, including things like collision and comprehensive coverage, medical payments coverage, personal injury protection, towing and labor coverage, rental reimbursement, and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. These raise the monthly premiums but the trouble could be well worth money.
Let’s take personal injury protection or PIP, for instance. If an accident occurs because of what may be considered as an “act of God”, then none of the parties are at fault. With no blame to assign, there is no liability to enforce and no insurance claims to collect. However, if a person has PIP coverage then this may be used to take care of the damage. Another is uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. With 20% of Texan car owners obstinately driving without insurance, victims can be left in a bind. Fortunately, UM/UIM can come in and fix the mess left by the delinquent motorist.
Consequences of Negligence
Once a person has acquired insurance, the company will issue a card as proof of the transaction. This is a very important item that must be carried at all times while driving. Police officers will often ask for this along with the license and registration papers when they ask motorists to pull over due to a traffic violation. It will also be required during license renewal, registration renewal, and inspections. The police will ask for the card if you ever get involved in an accident and you have to produce it or else you will be charged and penalized for neglect. Fines range from $175 to $1,000 with the court possibly adding license suspension and impoundment.
If lack of budget is what’s keeping you from getting insured, then use our quote widget at cheapcarinsuranceintexas.net to find bargain basement prices. Type your zip code, compare the quotes, and get the best deal in your area.
For local deals, check out: